NORCHOA statement on State funding for Neuse River Greenway

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NORCHOA URGES STATE FUNDING FOR COMPLETING NEUSE RIVER GREENWAY

From: the North Raleigh Coalition of Home Owners (NORCHOA), a group of concerned citizens living in North Raleigh, NC *

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/528915773822918/
Twitter: @norchoa

——————————————
Concerned citizens living near the Neuse River Greenway in Raleigh, NC urge state lawmakers to provide funding for the completion of the greenway and to continue to provide matching funds for greenway, bicycle, and pedestrian improvements.

It has been widely reported in the media that legislation has been proposed to eliminate matching state funds for greenways and bicycle and pedestrian improvements in North Carolina. AS INITIALLY WRITTEN THIS PROPOSED LEGISLATION, AMONG OTHER THINGS, THREATENS THE COMPLETION OF THE NEUSE RIVER GREENWAY. However, we have learned that the legislation is being modified to spare the Neuse River Greenway from these funding cuts. NORCHOA releases this statement in support of funding for the greenway.

More specifically, if passed as originally proposed, $166,000 will be eliminated from the state budget that is needed to complete the final link of the Neuse River Greenway. Specifically, the city is scheduled to receive $830,000 for the horseshoe bend project; 20% would be a state match of $166,000. The original version of the proposed legislation would eliminate these funds on July 1. The modified version of the bill continues to provide the matching funds. HOWEVER, THIS IS NOT YET FINALIZED.

The Neuse River Greenway is a tremendous asset for NORCHOA’S homeowners and residents. It provides unprecedented recreational and exercise opportunities not only for those who live in the area but also for citizens throughout Raleigh, Wake County, and visitors from other areas. The Neuse River Greenway enhances the natural beauty of the area and directly increases the values of our homes and our communities.

NORCHOA encourages everyone to contact state lawmakers asking them to continue to provide matching state funds for greenways, bicycle, and pedestrian improvements. Attached to this press release is a list of Wake County Representatives and Senators along with their contact information.

DUE TO THE SHORTAGE OF TIME IT IS URGENT THAT LAWMAKERS ARE CONTACTED AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

Wake County Legislators:

Representative Marilyn Avila (Rep)
2217 Legislative Building
Phone: 919-733-5530
Email: Marilyn.Avila@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2217
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
District: 40

Representative Nelson Dollar (Rep)
Phone: 919-715-0795
Email: Nelson.Dollar@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 307B1
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 36

Representative Jim Fulghum, M.D. (Rep)
Phone: 919-733-5860
Email: Jim.Fulghum@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 602
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 49

Representative Rosa U. Gill (Dem)
Phone: 919-733-5880
Email: Rosa.Gill@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1303
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
District: 33

Representative Duane Hall (Dem)
Phone: 919-733-5755
Email: Duane.Hall@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1019
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
District: 11

Representative Yvonne Lewis Holley (Dem)
Phone: 919-733-5758
Email: Yvonne.Holley@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1211
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
District: 38

Representative Darren G. Jackson (Dem)
Phone: 919-733-5974
Email: Darren.Jackson@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1013
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
District: 39

Representative Chris Malone (Rep)
Phone: 919-715-3010
Email: Chris.Malone@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 603
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 35

Representative Grier Martin (Dem)
Phone: 919-733-5773
Email: Grier.Martin@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1023
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096
District: 34

Representative Tom Murry (Rep)
Phone: 919-733-5602
Email: Tom.Murry@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 2121
Raleigh, NC 27601-1096 )
District: 41

Representative Paul Stam (Rep)
Phone: 919-733-2962
Email: Paul.Stam@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 612
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 37

Senator Chad Barefoot (Rep)
Phone: (919) 715-3036
Email: Chad.Barefoot@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 623
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 18

Senator Tamara Barringer (Rep)
Phone: (919) 733-5653
Email: Tamara.Barringer@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 411
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 17

Senator Dan Blue (Dem)
Phone: (919) 733-5752
Email: Dan.Blue@ncleg.net
16 W. Jones Street, Room 1117
Raleigh, NC 27601-2808
District: 14

Senator Neal Hunt (Rep)
Phone: (919) 733-5850
Email: Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net
300 N. Salisbury Street, Room 309
Raleigh, NC 27603-5925
District: 15

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s